top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarías at Sampaguitas

Poetry by Mehrul Bari S. Chowdhury

And fire


I still think of home when I think of you

Though the walls have fared better days

And the light crashes every now and again

In the stream of the shadows' eyes

Where I swear I must have seen a thousand times

Someone's face, someone's sky,

Not my own, but still very much my own.


I let you in the other day

You faded in just the minute you came

I saw your wings beat against my wind

And saw you till I was awake again.


I saw you again when the next night came

You came as words, and you spoke like a stream,

I sat about your legs when you were fire,

We spoke as one until the next night came.


I still think of home when I think of you

Though the walls have fared better days

And the river cuts open my face

In the gleam you let in on banks and shores

Where I can dip inside from time to time

Someone's trees, someone's skies,

Not my own, but still very much my own.




Mehrul Bari S. Chowdhury (he/him) is a writer, poet, and artist from Dhaka, Bangladesh. He has recently completed his BA in English Literature, and has been published in Cathartic Literary Magazine, Six Season Review, Twist & Twain, among others.If none of this sounds terribly impressive, he can also distinguish butter from I Can't Believe It's Not Butter.

135 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page