top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarías at Sampaguitas

Poem by Nisarga Sinha


Letter to No One

"Poems don't have to rhyme, you know."--- Someone from the roadside cafe, told me. I didn't know him, But I nodded. Maybe I just keep forgetting, And the strangers look familiar. The commotion of thoughts And the sober sadness bubbling up, Clouds my specs. Nowadays, I let myself fall apart. We've got to say goodbye. Tip tap. Tip tap. The rain outside sounds a lot, lot like A messed up song in the shower, Off key notes, forgotten lyrics And wondering how it went so wrong. I measure distance by Listening to the lone songbird, At the break of the dawn, And, Counting the days since I stopped Watching afternoon sky breaking into dusk In your shape. The universe has a strange way of Making quiet nights look a lot like love. Quite a small place, you know, Or maybe round too. I don't know. Magellan didn't come back. He travelled the world Like two parallel lines, Sleep And Lady Macbeth; Sleep And Desdemona, Or the star that loved the moon Forever. Our memories have memories, Maybe. I don't know. The world, like a circle Is bounding us to remember and to forget, To run away, To meet again --- to love and to leave. We don't write enough About not coming home, Or how much it takes, To laugh at the tragedy of The white walls of my room, Facing each other. You always preferred leaving. Still the graveyard grows flower. And I wonder How much it takes to live The lives we never lived. Never lived.


Nisarga Sinha is an amateur poet from India. She writes because sometimes thoughts can be suffocating and little things intrigue her. When she is not writing, she is reading fanfictions or pretending to sleep while she clearly can't and daydreaming. You can find her on Twitter as @nisarga_sinha.

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page