top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarías at Sampaguitas

Poetry by Vanessa Walters

Updated: May 8, 2020

a drug=good intentions



why did no one tell me that

a dose of what you want puts

you one step back –your face

dropped on my tongue a zing

of delight up to my eyes–


how can you forget about

the only thing you want

when you’re bored out

of your fucking mind


you know the world

is not against you


I wish I could tell you

every night, before

you curl up and hide

in the shell


You know you’re the

softest person I have

ever touched, I wish

I could tell you

in all these days

that are hard

and dry, and

You know

if only you knew

I am here to soothe

you –and carry your

charm at the

end of a chain–


i know i’m taking

the days away

from you baby

but you know

i think you know

that

i will be at

the side of you

forever and

at the end

of this fucking

road




Vanessa Walters is a visual artist and writer, born in Malta, grew up in Oxford, currently living in London. Her other work can be seen at www.vanessawalters.xyz. She may be found on Instagram as @walters.vanessa, and on Twitter as @vanessa_walters.

62 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page