top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarías at Sampaguitas

Poetry by Noreen Ocampo

Yesterday, I watched videos on manifesting


I find a sunny place to survive.

Every morning, a new magnum opus greets me

& I am so awake

& my parents don’t have to worry.


My friends are not far away

& if they are, I can drive to them. I can drive.

My friends never have to wonder whether I’ll text back

this time.


I love someone who loves me & receive flowers every week

but not necessarily from them

& not necessarily flowers. Sometimes

I buy the not-flowers myself & my windowsill becomes an arrangement.


I cannot believe

how happy I am. I believe how happy I am.

I fall asleep so easily &

even in every dream I survive.




Noreen Ocampo (she/her) is a Filipina American writer and poet based in metro-Atlanta. She studies English, film, and media at Emory University and currently writes for COUNTERCLOCK and {m}aganda magazine. She is also a regular contributor for Marías at Sampaguitas. Say hi on Twitter @maybenoreen!

100 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page