top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarías at Sampaguitas

Poetry by Noreen Ocampo

early childhood in eight haiku


at first confession,

I wish my favorite priest a

happy Valentine’s.


Lola scolds me for

repeating a word that sounds

like poinsettia.


I tell my mother

I love her after puking,

fearing a flu-death.


childhood friend cowers

in the kitchen under a

gold-framed Jesus Christ.


my father turns his

head last minute, evading

a pitiful kiss.


pink bike disappears

from beneath me, and I laugh

through red-weeping knees.


counting my fingers

on the playground, I create

a make-believe game.


I eat hospital

scrambled eggs and wait for a

new friend to arrive.


Noreen Ocampo (she/her) is a Filipina American writer double-majoring in English and Film Studies at Emory University. She is also currently a book reviewer for COUNTERCLOCK, a very amateur singer-songwriter, and an Animal Crossing enthusiast. In the future, Noreen aims to fulfill a role in the intersection between storytelling and education. She is a regular contributor for Marías at Sampaguitas.

44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page