top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarías at Sampaguitas

Poetry by Noreen Ocampo

how I became indebted to a fourteen year old


I haven’t figured out what good parenting looks like

maybe a dollar to not skip class two

to sleep early to sleep before 2AM to sleep

how much is one yen worth? morning matcha

to train my brother’s palate as I have been for the past thirteen years I taught him how to smile at sriracha

despite our sweet-toothed ancestry and there are things we can’t unlearn but I want him to know what love looks like maybe

experimenting with caffeinated drinks in the kitchen together and turning away when sugar on the tablespoon piles too high




Noreen Ocampo (she/her) is a Filipina American writer and poet based in metro-Atlanta. She studies English, film, and media at Emory University and currently writes for COUNTERCLOCK and {m}aganda magazine. She is also a regular contributor for Marías at Sampaguitas. Say hi on Twitter @maybenoreen!

61 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page