top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarías at Sampaguitas

Poetry by Noreen Ocampo

Birth of mosaic


When you pulled me from the hearth, limb

by limb, I was still crackling with the fire

that melded my bones from bare elements,


too young to wonder what stars perished

for you to be born & claim the skies, your

lungs stretched taut from volume of the universe


& skin somehow unscathed by the heat of

my body coming to life. Like laundry strung

on a quiet line, you left me to dry by the fireplace


& never returned to see the scorch marks

I left on your floor, teaching me to stand even

when I was broken in my own unformed hands.


I sewed my pinky next to my ring finger with

the silvery thread you hid in the workshop,

wanting me to bleed searching for the sheer


possibility to be whole, & every second, I was

quiet, even as the needlepoint pierced my skin.

But for the rest of my life, I would wonder


if I ever walked with the entirety of myself

or if there were still some shards of me

scattered in the drawers of your dusty desk,


some shards of me running amok in the flames

that created me in your image, some shards

of me with which I will never make acquaintance:


maybe it is better this way.




Noreen Ocampo (she/her) is a Filipina American writer double-majoring in English and Film Studies at Emory University. She is also currently a book reviewer for COUNTERCLOCK, a very amateur singer-songwriter, and an Animal Crossing enthusiast. In the future, Noreen aims to fulfill a role in the intersection between storytelling and education.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page