top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarías at Sampaguitas

Poetry by Juliette Sebock

In Vogue // À La Mode


I subscribe to a dozen magazines one night

because these are such good deals

and I've reignited an affair from years ago,

those slick-thin pages pressed to my fingertips.


//


I open the first to arrive and startle at poetry

but I take a breath and take it in,

think of me, of words,

a love story spanning a lifetime.


I read that poem and it washes over

me, mind too alight to capture much

beyond the allure of words

brushing against my eyelids, letters like a kiss.


Words and lips, too,

end too soon.




Juliette Sebock (she/her) is a Best of the Net-nominated poet and writer and the author of Mistakes Were Made, Micro, How My Cat Saved My Life and Other Poems, Three Words, Plight of the Pangolin, and Boleyn, with work forthcoming or appearing in a wide variety of publications. She is the founding editor of Nightingale & Sparrow, runs a lifestyle blog, For the Sake of Good Taste, and is a regular contributor to Marías at Sampaguitas, Memoir Mixtapes, and The Poetry Question. When she isn't writing (and sometimes when she is), she can be found with a cup of coffee and her cat, Fitz. Juliette can be reached on her website, juliettesebock.com, or across social media @juliettesebock.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page