top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarías at Sampaguitas

Poetry by Juliette Sebock

Retina


I capture an image in my mind

and there's no way in hell

I'll capture it with pen on paper,

Crayola markers and the

count-it-on-one-hand list of

things I remember from

grade school art class,

back when I thought I still

had a chance,


So I turn to a camera lens


And champagne bubbles turn to

a full moon shining

a spotlight on fruit fields

from its place in the sky,

high hopes syrup, sticky sweet,

clinging to the glass

in constellations

that turn to shadows

and pin pricks

that an iPhone can't

make out

like the naked

eye.




Juliette Sebock is the author of Mistakes Were Made and has work in publications including Royal Rose Mag and Cauldron Anthology. She is the editor-in-chief of Nightingale & Sparrow and runs a lifestyle blog, For the Sake of Good Taste. When she isn't writing (and sometimes when she is) she can be found with a cup of coffee and her cat, Fitz. She can be reached at her website and across social media at @juliettesebock. She is a regular contributor of Marías at Sampaguitas.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page