top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarías at Sampaguitas

Poetry by Hege Jakobsen Lepri

In Transit


After the second security check

My head heavy with tongues

of countries I barely touched,

words grinding their incomprehensible

urgency into my jaw


I chew on returning questions

Why I keep defying climate change

confined in an in-between space

too tight to swallow my doubts

or defend my reasons


I rip the teabag open

watch how the leaves surrender

wait until the last fragment lands

and I can read

what it all means




Hege Jakobsen Lepri is a Norwegian-Canadian translator and writer. She had her first story published in English in 2013 and that has since been her writing language. Though she's primarily a prose writer, her poetry has appeared or is forthcoming in untethered, Prism International, Haiku journal, Under the Basho, Anti-Heroin Chic, Better than Starbucks, Watch your Head and Burning House Press. She has also been part of The Emerging Writers Reading Series in Toronto. You find her at www.hegeajlepri.ca

75 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page