top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarías at Sampaguitas

Poetry by Christine Fojas

Pandora’s Box


Do you believe in ghosts? She was mine.


I remember the secret she whispered into my ear

while we jumped on puddles wetting the hems of our skirts.


I remember picking tiny santan flowers

and touching the petals to my tongue.

I remember side eyes, back talk,

three-way calls that broke into static.


I remember the sour puckering my mouth

when I first tasted the santol’s brown flesh.


I remember how her words

blurred under my fingers.


I remember sharing a spoon and fork between us.

I remember the first insult, the last kiss.


There’s a thin line between love and hate.

Pandora closes the lid, turns the key in the lock


and swallows it whole.





Christine Fojas is a Filipino-Canadian hailing from Las Piñas City and currently living in Metro Vancouver. She has a BA in Comparative Literature from University of the Philippines and works as a library technician at Douglas College. A list of her publications can be found at her website. She is also on Twitter as @chrisfojas.

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page