top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarías at Sampaguitas

Poetry by Bianca Braswell

Updated: Jun 10, 2020

Portrait of a girl with bridle


& isn’t it pretty to imagine being the kind of person

you could love in a different life isn’t that the kind of awe

that brings someone to their knees in the middle

of a parking lot at night the kind that shakes the stars

with their pity because there are the lies we tell ourselves

& the lies we slather on a wound when there is nothing left

to do with the infection I was once a voodoo doll plaything

making hurt into laughter like any good messiah

I made a theater of it because any good tradesman knows

a broken horse will keep its currency as long as it still prances

as long as it is groomed & neighing & will keep galloping

until it is dead & isn’t it pretty these horseshoes nailed into

my clavicles & how when I bite the bit my teeth shine

like the first day God watched blood fall from Abel’s chalice

of a skull like spiced wine & it was good like I am good

so good the flies don’t bother me anymore so good

when my father watched me stretched out on the rack

of my own making & asked Where has all your joy gone?

I smiled showed all my shining hair my kept hooves

& did not tell him when he said he loved me

I couldn’t believe a word out of any mouth that looked like mine




Bianca Braswell is a Cuban-American poet currently enrolled in the University of North Carolina at Charlotte where she is studying English and Film studies. She has previously been published in Stark poetry journal and has work forthcoming in Mineral Lit Magazine. She is currently working on her first poetry collection.

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page