top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarías at Sampaguitas

Poem by Tricia Lopez

Nicaragua


It’s all about water here, but I can’t drink it,

not even if it’s burned over the stove.


Rain burns too, and feels like gel,

slicking down my hair, kissing the humidity.


Mom wakes us up at six in the morning to shower

because the water is turned off at nine.


Gasoline strips my nose on the way to La Piloto,

another motociclista, hit.


I remember that gloomy day at the ocean.

Chlorine-fed pools, monkey-filled waters.


Managua, Nicaragua, agua, agua,

I remember the white-smeared stain


on the sidewalk that looked like waves.

The orange veins in your eyes as you held back


tears, some other form of salt. The small shake

in your hand when you raised your cigarette.


You were scared cold because I looked at you

and laughed. You didn’t like me,


winning. Nothing chases me away.

Not the lagoons filled with freshwater


sharks, the bull spiders crawling

in my uncle’s finca, the mosquitoes.


The nights aren’t cold when the sun still burns

in the puddles. Winds blowing it your way.




Tricia Lopez was born and raised in Los Angeles, CA. She is the former Editor-in-Chief of MORIA Literary Magazine and is currently a Grant Writing Intern for Sundress Publications. She has had poems, stories, and author interviews published in Cultural Weekly and Athena. Tricia will graduate with a degree in Professional Writing from Woodbury University in December. You can find her on Instagram @trvcvv.l and on Twitter @trvcvvl.

132 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page