top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarías at Sampaguitas

Poem by Rickey Rivers Jr

Water Remains

You've been gone a long time and yet I'm still picking up your things, hairbrush, comb, hair.

Everything you left is everywhere, in every nook and cranny, every up and down.

Why did you leave so much stuff around?

So that I can gather everything, smell them, remember you, let my tears soak into your clothes?

Did you want those memories to flow back so wild?

To become a raging wave, the past overbearing.

How cruel of you, drowning me in possessions.

Making it all flow back and wash me away.

I really thought I could swim too, drifting naïve,

splashing thoughts behind, baptizing sense of self in eternal lies.




Rickey Rivers Jr was born and raised in Alabama. He is a writer and cancer survivor. His work has appeared in Three Drops from a Cauldron, A Twist in Time Magazine, Neon Mariposa Magazine (among other publications). Twitter.com/storiesyoumight / https://storiesyoumightlike.wordpress.com/ His mini-chap collection of 3x3 poems is available now:https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07RX2YYM6

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page