top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarías at Sampaguitas

Poem by Juliette Sebock

Today, I told someone about you.


Today, for the first time in a long time,

I told someone about you.


I said your name and felt my heart catch,

felt the avalanche of the world crashing down

around me all over again.


Today, I was grateful for empathy.

I shut my eyes and thanked you

for all that you’ve given me.


Today, I thought about you

and how the years just keep passing by.


Today, I mentioned you and waited to cry.

I felt through the sorrow of the moment

and really felt it.


I felt a few more tears slip through my eyes.

Today, I saw your name written down

and felt some indescribable grief,

a longing somewhere deep down inside of me.


I imagined a world where you're vibrant and alive,

swirls of sequins and pinks, diamond rings,

long walks and playground swings.


Today, I said your name.




Juliette Sebock is a Best of the Net-nominated poet and writer and the author of Mistakes Were Made, Micro, How My Cat Saved My Life and Other Poems, and Boleyn, with work forthcoming or appearing in a wide variety of publications. She is the founding editor of Nightingale & Sparrow, runs a lifestyle blog, For the Sake of Good Taste, and is a regular contributor with Marías at Sampaguitas, Royal Rose, Memoir Mixtapes, and The Poetry Question. When she isn't writing (and sometimes when she is), she can be found with a cup of coffee and her cat, Fitz. Juliette can be reached on her website, juliettesebock.com, or across social media @juliettesebock.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page