top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarías at Sampaguitas

Poem by Gervanna Stephens

simplicity in mind


I sometimes find myself 

searching,

the meanings of simple words

lost,

to me this is self preservation 

survival of all the love poems 

I’ve penned in secret. 


I want to write more

than my sorrow

spill ink like tales of grandeur

pen purposeful threads,

but most times  I can only say good morning. 


And isn’t that desire too?  trial and error,  fixed in sleep,  wishes of good night,  blessings beyond the simplicity of words.

I want to try,  embrace all the in betweens that the day holds  from morning to night.




Gervanna Stephens is a Jamaican poet and proud Slytherin with congenital amputation living in Canada. She is Assistant Editor with The/tƐmz/Review, hates public speaking, has two sisters who are better writers than her & thinks unicorns laugh when we say they aren’t real. Recent or forthcoming work can be found in Moonchild Magazine, Ghost City Press, Montreal Writes and Yes Poetry.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page