top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarías at Sampaguitas

7 Poems by Tiny Tanaka


Protect Me

she fought fiercely

for every cause she held dear

she threw her body into action

into the war

into the battle of her mind scape


she fought like she had nothing to lose

she fought like every battle would be her last


she’s careless

some would say

she acts like there’s nothing left of her life

others murmured

she fights like she’s going to die for her cause

others assumed


to her friends

to her family

to those who looked up to her for guidance

and to those who kept space for her in their hearts

I’m sorry for your loss




Don’t Remember Me

They say that it takes seven years

for all the cells in your body

to replace themselves

it takes seven years

to rid my body

of every place you touched


every scar

that embedded itself

within my flesh

that was caused by your doing

has yet to all subside


the skin may be new

the cells may be new

but the wounds are aching and old


I’m tired of hiding

and tired of fear

overcoming my senses


I’m tired of being hyperaware

of the smell and feel

of tiger balm


I’m tired of waking up

at the sound of cars

screaming on the roads

I’m tired of my birthday

coming and going

and me dreading the day it comes


I’m tired of all the regret

that I brought upon myself

for not telling

I’m tired of telling myself

that it wasn’t what it was

because maybe

I didn’t say no loud enough

I said it too few times

I didn’t fight back

my tears that shed covered my voice

that I didn’t break up with you after

that I didn’t understand

what was happening

or that I understood and liked it


I’m tired of making excuses for you

but as the days go by

I know you don’t remember it

and sometimes

to this very fucking day

I relive it in nightmares




80 MPH

and love will find you

even in the darkest of places

because sometimes

you weren’t expecting a little love tap

or a honking bulldozer

going 80 miles per hour

but it’ll find you all the same


so take my advice

don’t run

let it hit you and pay you

with its assurance and support

and pray that you can find it in your heart

to accept the broken pieces and parts


take this new spark of yours

and love it fiercely

with all the firey passion you can

so when the flame

is nothing but a candle’s flicker

you’ll remember

that you aren’t wandering any longer


you’re staring at the head of the bull

and loving it with all your heart




Bitter Sweet Love

I can’t bring myself to write about love too often

perhaps I don’t feel the immense sensation

that envelopes people like you

or perhaps that’s the borderline personality disorder talking

where the feeling of unexplainable anger

and feeling of eternal abandonment

close around my chest

and squeeze until it bursts

in the form of salty drops

on my cheeks and in my hair


I feel so much for my one and only

but why is it that I can’t bring myself to write about the love

that lingers in the darkness

and the love

that sings throughout my very being


perhaps I can’t express those words

as clearly as my downward spirals

yes

that’s what I’ll tell myself for years past

and years to come

I’ll be alright

I’ll repeat those words

until it becomes natural on my tongue

and not so bitter

in between the gaps in my teeth

I’ll be okay eventually

won’t I?




Journeys

I didn’t travel this far

for you to only accept that I was on a journey

searching for my soul


no

I was here to love you


until you knew that you were worth the wait




Wandering Wondering

Do you think he misses me?

I wonder as I wander underneath the stormy skies


the sea knows that I am lost

in the hurricane that held my soul captive

that agreed to only release it when I gave up the right

to notice others staring at us


us not being together

us not calling out to each other in the darkness

where only we know if the storm will kill us in the end


if it were anyone else

I’d want a happy ending for them

but for us

did we deserve it?




God Gave Me You

I get shivers down my spine seeing you look at me that way.

it was a constant thrill

being by your side

on nights like these where there were no fears or doubts

that the world around us would pull us apart

don’t tell me something can go wrong


don’t tell me that the whispers around us are getting to you

that your daddy doesn’t like girls like me

around their good Christian daughters

that your momma prays the gay in me can go away

that the gay won’t get to you too

as if it were a disease

something that you can catch

like the cold or flu


I can see the way your eyes dim

as you look out the the galaxy above us

when I brush your hair back behind your ear

do you think the stars would accept me as one of their own?

you say

one night where the clouds couldn’t cover our hopes


I think only the devil would turn your brightness away.

you’re too good for me

too good for this hicktown in the middle of nowhere.

too good to be caught up in hateful rumors

but I keep that last part to myself

I don’t want the goddess before me

to know I hear the rumors

that haunt every corner of our village


you’re always too kind.

I’m glad I can always see passed your masked mirror

the one that reflects everything done and given to you.

I’m glad you can see the me I want to shine

that can and will shine

once I get out of here and move to the city


what did I ever do to deserve you?

it’s an honest question

god would’ve never given me something I couldn’t handle

would never give me anything I don’t want or need


but as you sit here before me

eyes up at the midnight sky I understand

that you don’t belong in this cruel world that you were given

that you don’t deserve the cards dealt to you

and so when you left us for heaven

because chemo only can work so hard

because your body can only push too far

I knew you were happy

I knew that our creator would protect you

and give you the life you deserve

the next time around


I love you.

but you made me promise

that I wouldn’t be lost without you

that I wouldn’t sacrifice my future

to join you where you can watch over me

so I’ll sit here

just a while longer

and rebel

so I can get lost in the stars

and their infinite galaxies

and get lost

in the thought

that I’ll meet you again





Tiny Tanaka is a poetry and prose writer, recovering addict, Hafu-sprinkled with Korean heritage, lesbian, who happens to have borderline personality disorder. They fight for intersectional feminism, LGBT+ rights, and to end the stigma of mental illnesses. They may be found on their IG: tinytanaka.poetry

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page