top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarías at Sampaguitas

5 Poems by Juliette Sebock

Engulfed

You managed to pick the only one I liked less than myself

in that moment. But I tried, again,

for you

because you taught me too well to breathe in nothing but you,

forget I'd ever had plans outside of you, you, you

nothing but you.

Somebody sent her a warning,

carrier pigeon in the dead of night,

but she stayed in the dance, fluttering in the sparks

of your torchlight.

I still blame her, but I can't blame her

when I know that I'd do--did--the same,

confronted by flames at midnight.



Atonement

Shame.

Church bells ring,

signalling another day

where they all know what I've done.

Shame.

Amethyst scars like a scarlet A

mark where I've been, who was here,

what I let him do, what I've done.

Shame.

Purgatory's a push towards penance,

circling around through eternity

but never forgiven for what I've done.



Pastels and Neons

Carrots among flowers

(the fronds are close enough),

coffee beans in pinks and greens.

Quick sips between snippets

of vague conversation

leave you breathless,

sneak peek at what's to come.

Upgrade at nighttime,

but switching roles

(carrots to barley

and coffee to tea).

Empty bottles on the bar

a preview prior to a feature film.



Dreamsong

A song for Mercutio

Do the stars seem extra bright tonight

Or is it just because you're on my mind?

We've got to be crazy,

'Cause this ain't right.

So here's to you and I--

Leaving the world behind.


Recording the Stars

I don't remember what I made

waltzing through the kitchen,

blowing out my ear drums at the grocery

with the same song on repeat.

Fractures of records from my favourite bands,

wash it down with a shot of regret,

a bottle of realisation

next to the whiskey you left

halfway to Narnia.

I lie back again and

that guitar is still all I can stomach

as I stare at the smile scratched

into the ceiling of my subconscious.

And here I thought I'd never know

what it felt like to be this version of me,

playing that moment on repeat.




Juliette Sebock is the author of Mistakes Were Made and has work in publications including Royal Rose Mag and Cauldron Anthology. She is the editor-in-chief of Nightingale & Sparrow and runs a lifestyle blog, For the Sake of Good Taste. When she isn't writing (and sometimes when she is) she can be found with a cup of coffee and her cat, Fitz. She can be reached at her website and across social media at @juliettesebock.

60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page