top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarías at Sampaguitas

5 Poems by Gustavo Barahona-López




Alternative Fact #1984

She says the niños were not put in cages

The cages are the barrios

and pueblos they came from.

We give them food and place to sleep.




Looking

for you

in the shadows

of the world

including my own


you are

the elusive

whisper that

once

found

engulfs

me a spinning

haze of brightness

opaque truth

do not let go

until I scribble

my soul

on canvas


come to me

grant

me the moment

of clarity

your embrace



Spring

Daylight spreads

racing along the arc of the Earth

like Hermes delivering news of joy,

like curved lightning refusing to strike.


The heavens are in bloom.


There is no need to save daylight,

the sun hands it out in droves.

Leaves and skin soak the rays gleefully.

Pupils contract and adjust and reveal

a colorful world full of new shades.


The earth warms and incubates.

  

We, the living, grow,

in awe and wonder.

We embrace daylight like a nurturing blanket

that shields from the cold.




My Debt

I owe poems

I owe a poem to starless LA nights

To dead cockroaches on un-swept streets

To drunken fools on Monday nights


I owe poems to my family

I owe my mother a poem about sacrifice

My sister one of dedication

My grandmother one of memory


I owe humanity poems

I owe a poem about prejudice

About working together for everyone’s benefit

About our eventual extinction


I owe myself poems

I owe myself a poem of struggle

Of effort turning into skill

Of my meaning of life


I owe my love an infinite number of poems

I owe her 30 poems about the petals of blue roses

I owe her 1,000 poems describing her brilliance

I owe her 4,000,000 poems recounting the divine experience of her touch


I declare poetic bankruptcy




The hopes of an Aztec oracle when she learns of the conquistadors

May their weapons proclaim mutiny

and dive into the sea.

May the sea open up

and crash upon them as they

see their destination.

May the gods use conquistador sails

as targets for lightning bolts.

May their Spanish blood become

the gold they seek.

May their souls corrode and crumble like

aged adobe.

May they never take to the sea again.





Gustavo Barahona-López is a poet from the San Francisco Bay Area. In his writing, Barahona-López draws from his experience growing up in a Mexican immigrant household. His work can be found or is forthcoming in Rattle’s Poets Respond, PALABRITAS, Cutthroat, Puerto del Sol and Unlost Journal. When Barahona-López is not in the classroom you can find him re-discovering the world with his son. His twitter handle is @TruthSinVerdad.

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page