top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarías at Sampaguitas

3 Poems by Ria Valdez


Bike ride, 8:18pm

I had sneaked away again. The moon leading me

to where roads sprouted as I pedaled

away. Each road, another question of why I was moving

forward. Should I have known better? Should my eyes

not lock with yours while you watched me teach

in class? You had taken down notes,

brushed your hair from your face when it hid

from my gaze, revealing a gold pin

on your collar. Your school’s logo. A name plate

on your chest: pre-service teacher.

That night, you frowned when I told you it was raining

when I had ridden a bike. My hair plastered

on my face clumsily. My drenched gray jacket dark

like pavement. It was the first time we saw each other

without our uniforms. Our blouses, both bulletproof vests

for each other. Don’t shoot. Don’t touch. Don’t call me

by anything other than “Ma’am.” But we were stubborn,

you and I. We called each other love.

In the faculty room, I had always wondered how your hand

felt like whenever it was close to mine. A week after

we had called each other love, you told me

you didn’t let anyone touch your hand.

And now here we were in a greasy fast food chain,

a paper cup of coffee between us

before you reached out your hand for me to hold.

Your hands were soft like rain drops

gently pattering my skin. We struggled to call each other

by our names the whole night. Before you left,

I kissed your cheek. You said I broke two rules of yours

that night: no one holds your hand and no one

kisses your cheek. I thought of how we would wear

our uniforms tomorrow, along with a smile

only the two of us would share. Love,

we’ve always been good at breaking rules.




The First Trip

Unpacking was the worst part.

After I returned home alone, I let my travel bag

lay bare on my bed—a treasure chest

with a mouth that refused to close,

as if frozen in mid-sentence,

because of a broken zipper.

From the bag I retrieved

a pack of Salonpas, with two packs missing.

I had used them for my back which hurt

from sleeping by the wall, spine

against cement, cold latching on to bone

like water seeping into pavement. I slept

that way since she took up all the space

in the bed. She was tired and the night,

with its cold murmurs, told us to lay down.

We never got to see the city at night.

A brochure from the resort we stayed in, the words

“Eden Nature Park”, half-creased. The picture

of the Bird Sanctuary had scratches

from our untrimmed nails.

We followed every cemented path that led

to other paths guarded by railings

as if they were afraid to be lost within themselves.

We were poor with directions too.

What remained in my bag was an empty purse,

navy blue cloth like a city at dusk,

a canvas turned murky brown over the years. Her first gift

when she became my girlfriend a year ago.

What’s left in the purse was a receipt. The cost

of our cottage, the buffet breakfast, the bird sanctuary

we never found, the view we never shared together,

and all the things we spent our money on.

All the things we tried our best to keep.




Why I Write

Poetry

had not been kind to anyone.

All the lovers who became poems

remained as poems.

And it scared me how

you were turning

into one. Yet

here you were yearning

to be spoiled by metaphors.

You speak

in line breaks. Your lips,

I compared to the fluttering

of butterflies. I knew

and I admit that your presence

was more tangible on paper

than beside me. You thought

I never wrote about you

so you told me about a guy

who you imagined having children with.

I’m just imagining, it isn’t real.

You also told me I never gave you anything

real. And you were right

because all I had were metaphors

that would never be used to describe us

anymore. And now this poem

that isn’t about you

ends.



Ria Valdez is a graduate of Bachelor of Arts (AB) in English, major in Creative Writing, from the University of the Philippines - Mindanao, she currently teaches senior high school Creative Writing and Creative Nonfiction subjects at Davao City National High School. Her poems and creative nonfiction are published in Dagmay Literary Journal, Payag Habagatan: New Writings from the South, and “Press: 100 Love Letters” (University of the Philippines Press, 2017), among others.

486 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page