top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarías at Sampaguitas

3 Poems by Lannie Stabile

Updated: Mar 4, 2019



Kyss Mig

Inspired by the Swedish film Kyss Mig


She leans in amid a background of deer

We, the bevy, are petrified

like Christmas decorations,

heavy and twinkling with anticipation


Doe by doe, a slow-motion charm

echoes this moment of ticking frenzy


Cell by cell, space between us shrivels

our gamy voyeurs dim and retire


The dusk wraps its wooded arms around us

My pulse melts under her tongue,

her breath waves through my teeth

As we fold soundlessly into each other’s night




Anthophilous

If I could copy your body,


I’d put the spares in concentric circles.

In the middle, perfect pairs of thighs,

gathering like dense, secreting stems.

Abundant svelte arms and slender

fingers


heartily blossoming toward a torrid star.

Nothing less than a goddess bouquet,

I’d shove my nose deep in its center,

inhaling the perfume and grandiose.

I’d touch its golden pollen to my

tongue,

tasting wildflowers and natural danger,

a combination worthy of endless eons.

When I deemed the arrangement

flawless,

I’d place the ladies in an ornate vase,

taking care to display their finest

features.

And once I spritzed my prize with love,

I’d present this impeccable posy to you.




One Word Whisper

I am a dry, curling leaf:

part sun, part rust

Stuttering on sidewalks

Vibrant to passersby,

dying since I broke


I am also black mud:

heavy with emptiness

Still a bit frozen within

Sucking at clunky boots,

begging for the next steps


See how I can weigh both

nothing

& everything?

How I can trudge through barren

years, but crumble at a whisper?



Lannie Stabile, a Detroiter, likens the process of creative writing to spanking ketchup: grueling, but necessary. Works can be found, or are forthcoming, in The Hellebore, Kissing Dynamite, Cauldron Anthology, Monstering, and more. She is penning a novel and chapbook, and recently became Project Manager of Barren Magazine. Twitter handle: @LanniePenland. Writer website: https://lanniepenland.weebly.com

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page