top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarías at Sampaguitas

1 Poem by Courtney LeBlanc


Plums

~after William Carlos Williams


While flying across the country I dreamt the man

sitting next to me had a round body but a small,

shrunken head, like that of a turtle. When the flight

attendant came by she began hand-feeding him

deep purple plums, his mouth opening wide to eat

them whole. I woke startled when the beverage cart

rumbled by and glanced at the man to my right. Normal

head. I shook the dream from my thoughts, wondered

its meaning before remembering the plums

at home in the icebox, the ones I’d forgotten to take as my mid-flight snack.



Courtney LeBlanc is the author of the chapbooks All in the Family (Bottlecap Press) and The Violence Within (Flutter Press), and a Pushcart Prize nominee. She has her MFA from Queens University of Charlotte and her poetry is published or forthcoming in Public Pool, Rising Phoenix Review, The Legendary, Germ Magazine, Quail Bell Magazine, Brain Mill Press, Haunted Waters Press, and others. She loves nail polish, wine, and tattoos. Follow her on twitter: @wordperv, and IG: @wordperv79.

103 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page