top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarías at Sampaguitas

1 Poem by Ada Pelonia


intoxication

maybe it was the drink

that confused every working

cell in my brain. maybe it

played with my nerves and

the neurotransmitters have

flailed on certain places

they shouldn’t be. or maybe

there was some unnamed

being toying with me when

by the time her image entered

my brain there was that static

tremble that roared in my heart,

making it beat her name the way

i know it shouldn’t.

her voice,

the way it sounds like whispers

that i’ve kept on hiding behind the

soft ushers of flowers dancing

behind my ears.

her hands,

that i could have easily held had i

kept my distance at arm’s length.

but i couldn’t. i never did. because

i knew well that even by her smile

i could be easily drawn to tell her

how long i’ve felt this tremble. the

beats it creates when she’s near.

but the drink

played me when by the time

i knew that no medication could

ever sober me up, i spoke, whispered

her name, and told the words i’ve been

longing to tell. i could swear i saw the words

billow in the air like bubbles drifting.

but when it popped, not only those words

left but so did she.




Ada Pelonia is a writer from the Philippines. Her work has been published or is forthcoming in Blink-Ink, Germ Magazine, and 101 Words. Besides reading fictional books and writing anything that comes to her mind, she enjoys drinking tea during rainy days. She's also on Twitter @_adawrites.

60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page